Posted on

Top 9 Books to Read If You Love the Harry Potter Series

progressive rising phoenix press

Are you one of the millions of people who felt fulfilled, yet sad, when they finished the Harry Potter series? On the one hand, you felt accomplished that you had completed the series; on the other, you were down that it was over.

The good news is that the fun doesn’t have to stop. Being a devoted Potterhead doesn’t mean you can’t appreciate other series about magic and adventure. Here are the top nine books to read if you love the Harry Potter series:

  1. Scythe by Neal Shusterman

Imagine a world where disease, famine, and war no longer exist. Humanity has conquered all the world’s misery including death. Scythes are now the only ones who have the power to end life. And they do so to keep the population under control. Teens, Citra and Rowan, are chosen to apprentice a scythe and master the art of taking life – a role neither of them wants.

  1. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

To save her sister, Katniss Everdeen volunteers in the Hunger Games, an event where the children of Panem fight to the death.

  1. Pennyroyal Academy Series by M.A. Larson

Pennyroyal Academy is a school where young children are trained to become princesses and knights. However, they are not your typical princesses – they are strong and empowered warriors who protect the land from witches and dragons.

     4. The Lord of the Rings Trilogy by J. R. R. Tolkien

The Lord of the Rings is an epic high fantasy novel filled with adventure and mystical creatures like elves, dwarves, and wizards. You’ll also be introduced to hobbits, orcs, and the other races of Middle-earth.

     5. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Six of Crows tells the story of six teenage outcasts who also happen to be thieves and wizards. They come together to undertake an impossible heist.

     6. The Saga of Darren Shan by Darren Shan

The Darren Shan series is a 12-book vampire series about a boy whose story starts at the same age Harry was when he first received his Hogwarts acceptance letter. He must become a vampire’s assistant to save his best friend, Steve.

     7. Knights of the Borrowed Dark by Dave Rudden

Knights of the Borrowed Dark follows the story of the orphan Denizen who discovers that he’s part of an ancient family of mage-knights.

     8. The Kingkiller Chronicles by Patrick Rothfuss

The Kingkiller Chronicles is a trilogy that tells the story of Kvothe, an adventurer and musician. This epic fantasy saga takes you on many adventures and across multiple lands.

     9. The Cloak Society Series by Jeramey Kraatz

The Cloak Society series is action-packed. It’s often been compared to the Percy Jackson books. The Cloak Society is an elite organization of supervillains with extraordinary powers who were defeated by the Rangers of Justice. The story follows Alex Knight, a junior member of the Cloak society who has telekinetic superpowers, as he befriends a junior ranger of the Rangers of Justice and begins to question what he is fighting for.

Don’t be sad that you’ve finished the Harry Potter series. It’s time to get hooked on new adventures and characters. At Progressive Rising Phoenix, we’ve got a list ofnon-fictionand YA fictiontitles that will introduce you to new mysteries, fantasies, and action.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *